Constitutional and Political Development in Nigeria (Part II): Sir Hugh Clifford Constitution (1922-1925)

The Clifford Constitution was named after the then governor of Nigeria; the constitution had the following features; The Legislative Council   The constitution provided for a legislative council in place of the Nigerian Council of Lord Lugard. The council had 46 members; made up of 27 official members and 19 unofficial members, the unofficial consist […]

January 15, 1966: 50 years after

   Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa BY fixing the date of handover of instruments of surrender from the humbled Republic of Biafra to Nigeria after a 30-month civil war that took thousands of lives on both sides on January 15, 1970, perhaps the stakeholders wanted to make a statement that whatever damage was done to the […]


Reproduced below is the extremely revealing and informative Historical account written by the Olowu of Owu Kingdom, Oba Adegboyega Dosunmu in the official Brochure of the just concluded 2012 Odun-Omo-Olowu: In the beginning of times, the people known as Egbas were offshoot of Oyo.  They lived in hamlets scattered in the Egba forest South West […]

The Nigerian Youth Movement (1934-1951)

J.C. Vaughn, Ernest Ikoli, H.O. Davies, and Samuel Akinsanya founded the Nigerian Youth Movement (NYM) in 1934. Although based in Lagos, the NYM was the first Nigerian nationalist organization to promote politics outside of the capital. Furthermore, the NYM was also the first organization to stress national unity over racial divisions, notably between the Igbo […]